Experimentations of Teenage Feminist

11 Oct

http://teenage-feminist.blogspot.com/

I found Danielle Burch’s blog “Experimentations of a Teenage Feminist” very inspiring and interesting. Danielle is a teenage girl who not only is a feminist with strong opinions but also has began a club in her high school called “Real Beauty Revolution” in which they talk about “gender equality, body image, media stereotypes, relationships, self-esteem” and much more. She speaks about a lot of the main topics in feministic arguments but in my opinion it is a lot more interesting hearing her opinions and thoughts because she is somewhat closer to my age group which makes me feel like I can relate to her easier.

Her most recent blog posts are of domestic violence, feminists for choice, Jose Canseco’s use of words when describing women, and about a little girl names Ruby.

I like the fact that in the domestic violence post she not only brings it to ones attention that domestic violence is an ongoing issue, but she also gives out information and a place for women to express themselves about it and share their stories if they need to vent. This is great seeing as though many women who have experienced domestic violence and who want help usually don’t know where to go.

I realized that pro-choice is a huge topic amongst feminists. I have never been pro-abortion because I believe everybody deserves a chance, even unborn babies. Yet, while reading Danielle’s post and others as well on this topic, I can understand why choice is an important aspect of a women’s life as everyone has their own story and has the right and freedom to do as they please.

Danielle responded to Maureen Dowd’s “Where’s the Road Beef?” article which mentions Jose Canseco’s use of the word “slump buster” to describe big, ugly, (or both) women. It just goes to show how easy it is, for men especially, to insult women and get away with it. Later on in class in our Bodies topic we will get more in depth about the pressures put on women, but this article also shows how much women are judged by their looks and appearances. It is incredible what our society has labeled as “okay”.

Lastly, the post about Fbomb, Smart Girls, and Ruby the Feminist. Ruby is an almost eight-year-old girl feminist and wrote a book very early in life expressing her views called “if boys can do it, so can I”. To me this is incredible; a young girl who believes women should have all the same rights as men when she hasn’t grown up to fully understand the hardships women have and still go through today. “Fbomb is one of the most well-known (and kick-ass) sites for young feminist writers to vent their frustrations, debate, and ultimately validate each other’s women-can-do-anything attitudes”. This is another great way to let women express themselves and I hope it continues with great success because without it I’m not sure how many women will stand up and speak their minds.

Danielle Burch has and continues to make a difference in young girls lives like the ones at her school and I wish her the best as she goes on to make a great name for herself.

 

Ysamar Garcia

 

3 Responses to “Experimentations of Teenage Feminist”

  1. dsapanaro October 15, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Ysamar, I really like this post because it is so inspiring to young women! I find it so awesome that Danielle has started a feminist club in high school. I really wish there was something or someone like this in my high school to bring the idea of feminism into my life at an earlier age because I didn’t start reading feminist literature till college.

  2. itzjessicax3 October 16, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    I agree with you both. Danielle is able to stand up for what she believes in and acts upon it so that others can learn more. I agree with “if boys can do it, so can I”. Inspiring women to be who they are and rise to the occasion when they want to succeed in life. No work should be gender specific.

  3. bmcgarth13 October 16, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    I agree with you jessica. making any task gender specific only causes more strife, and allows for more complication. Daniel is brave for standing up for what she believes in, and being able to voice her strength and her desire to just be looked upon as equally capable of performing as any man.

Leave a Reply

