tweeting your abortion

6 Dec

http://www.salon.com/life/broadsheet/2010/11/04/ihadanabortion

This article summarizes the trend of using the twitter hashtag #ihadanabortion. While this was meant to be an empowering movement, the article raises the question of whether it is “needless provocation.” I agree that having an abortion is not something to be ashamed of, and that the taboo society puts on abortion is unnecessary and offensive to anyone who supports a woman’s right to her own body, but the use of this hashtag just rubbed me the wrong way. In the last paragraph of the article, the author says that part of her “bristles” at the thought of this issue being reduced to a twitter hashtag…I’m not sure that I would describe my reaction in such a passionate way, but I do think that talking about your abortion in 140 characters or less does seem to minimize the importance that the choice actually has in the lives of women (example: 1992, 1998. #ihadanabortion). It’s great that the women who are responding aren’t ashamed of their choices, and want to speak out, but I don’t think that Twitter is the correct place to do that. Maybe if they had used that hashtag and then linked to a blog about their experience and why they made the choice they did, I would feel that it was more appropriate. And perhaps some women did that, but none of the examples in this article reflect that, and when I read it I felt that it just made light of an issue that’s very important to women’s rights.

Leave a Reply

